The AWIU Internationalism Award

The AWIU Internationalism Award is presented to individuals who have addressed concerns and issues facing women worldwide. The commitment and work of the individuals have set them apart by every standard. Recipients have exhibited international support for women’s issues and contributed to worldwide understanding, raised awareness of global concerns, and fostered and encouraged cross-cultural dialogue. The Internationalism Award is presented annually at the International Women of Courage Celebration.

Previous AWIU Internationalism Award Winners

Internationalism Award

Honorable Ertharin Cousin
Former U.S. Ambassador

Internationalism Award

Ana C. Rold
Publisher, Diplomatic Courier 

Internationalism Award

Anita DeFrantz
Member, International Olympic Committee, Olympian and Advocate for Equity in Global Sports

Internationalism Award

Harriet M. Fulbright
President of the Fulbright Center and Advocate for International Education

Internationalism Award

Laurie Garrett
Pulitzer Prize-Winning Investigative Journalist, Best-Selling Author, and Senior Fellow for Global Health at the Council on Foreign Affairs

Internationalism Award

Melanne Verveer
First U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues and Founding Director, Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and  Security

Internationalism Award

Marie Thérèse Royce
Senior Director International Public Affairs, Alcatel-Lucent

Internationalism Award

Cathy McMorris Rodgers
U.S. Congresswoman, 5th District, Washington

Internationalism Award

Donna F. Edwards
U.S. Congresswoman, 4th District, Washington

Internationalism Award

The Honorable Bonnie McElveen-Hunter
Former U.S. Ambassador to Finland and Founder and CEO of Pace Communications

Internationalism Award

Laura W. Bush
Former First Lady of the United States

Internationalism Award

Doris Buffett
Founder and President, Sunshine Lady Foundation

* Caroline Leonetti Ahmanson
* The Honorable Leonore Annenberg
* The Honorable Shirley Temple Black
Sylvia A. Earle, Ph.D. – 1999
Mary Jean Eisenhower – 2001
* Pauline Frederick
* Frances Hammer
* Bernice M. Hemphill
* Fay Kanin
* The Honorable Jewel Lafontant-Mankarious
Bette Bao Lord
* The Honorable Clare Boothe Luce
U.S. Astronaut Shannon W. Lucid, Ph. D.
Madame Jehan el Sadat, Ph. D.
U.S.S.R. Cosmonaut Valentina Tereshkova
* Helen Thomas
* Kazuko Toyoda
Governor and Mrs. Pete Wilson

* Deceased