IWOC Video

Mushroom farming

An AWIU Conversation with Dr. Rita Nyampinga   International Woman of Courage Dr. Rita Nyampinga has been busy since returning to Harare, Zimbabwe from her stateside visit in 2020 to collect her IWOC award. On June 18th, she shared what she’s been doing with women recently released from prison in […]

Empowering Women Released from Prison Read More »

IWOC Panels

The U.S. Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage Award recognizes women from around the globe who have demonstrated exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for peace, justice, human rights, gender equality, and women’s empowerment, often at great personal risk and sacrifice. In late March, the State Department announced two

2022 IWOC Panel Discussions: Stories of Empowerment Read More »

roya sadat 600x600

Afghan filmmaker and 2018 International Woman of Courage Roya Sadat is the recipient of the 2021 Kim Dae Jung Nobel Peace Film Award, bestowed at a ceremony at the Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Kim Dae-Jung Memorial Hall in Gwangju City, Korea on December 16, 2021. The award recognizes Sadat’s effort

Roya Sadat Wins 2021 Kim Dae-Jung Nobel Peace Film Award Read More »

Support AWIU

AWIU is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Tax ID # 23-7273487

American Women for International Understanding
1900 East Golf Road, Suite 950
Schaumburg, IL 60173
phone: 202-643-1196 | email: info@awiu.org

Join The AWIU Newsletter!

Stay up to date with upcoming events and opportunities with AWIU

*Your information will not be sold or spammed

Scroll to Top