International Women of Courage Announced by State Department.

 Introducing the Secretary of State’s
2023 International Women of Courage Awardees

Each year, the U.S. Department of State honors women from around the world who have demonstrated exceptional courage, strength and leadership in advocating for peace, justice, human rights, gender equity, equality, and the empowerment of women and girls. The Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage (IWOC) Award brings global attention and shines a light on these women who have put their personal safety, and often their lives, at risk to improve their communities and inspire fellow citizens.AWIU is honored to announce the 2023 International Women of Courage Awardees. Countries represented are Afghanistan, Argentina, Central African Republic, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Poland and Ukraine. In addition, the State Department is presenting an inaugural group award, The Madeleine Albright Honorary Group Award, which this year honors the Women and Girl Protestors of Iran.

On Wednesday, March 8, at 2:00 p.m. EST, the Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken and First Lady Jill Biden will  host the 2023 International Women of Courage Award Ceremony at the White House. The Ceremony will honor the 2023 IWOC Awardees and feature remarks from the Secretary of State, the First Lady, the United States Representative to the United Nations, and senior State Department officials.
Live stream the Ceremony at or

Support AWIU

AWIU is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Tax ID # 23-7273487

American Women for International Understanding
1900 East Golf Road, Suite 950
Schaumburg, IL 60173
phone: 202-643-1196 | email:

Join The AWIU Newsletter!

Stay up to date with upcoming events and opportunities with AWIU

*Your information will not be sold or spammed

Scroll to Top